Willy, Andrew Martyn (2013) A portfolio of compositions consisting of Sketches, Mutations, Evolution, Emergence, Insomnia, Xpressions, and Ut infinitio quod ultra. Doctoral thesis, Keele University.

[thumbnail of Willy PhD 2013.pdf]
Willy PhD 2013.pdf

Download (2MB) | Preview
[thumbnail of Sketches.m4v] Video
Sketches.m4v - Published Version

Download (506MB)
[thumbnail of Mutations.m4v] Video
Mutations.m4v - Published Version

Download (834MB)
[thumbnail of Evolution.m4v] Video

Download (864MB)
[thumbnail of Emergence.m4v] Video

Download (487MB)
[thumbnail of insomnia.m4v] Video

Download (397MB)
[thumbnail of Xpressions.m4v] Video

Download (209MB)
[thumbnail of Ut infinitio quod ultra.m4v] Video
Ut infinitio quod ultra.m4v

Download (915MB)
[thumbnail of AAC Audio Setup.m4v] Video
AAC Audio Setup.m4v

Download (1MB)


This thesis builds a conceptual framework that enables the creation of synergetic audiovisual works which is “fundamental to the nature of complex interactive dynamic sound and light systems and their resulting forms.”1 Utilising electroacoustic Schaefferian principles and applying them to a new media, I propose that objects can be established synergistically as an audiovisual whole, greater than the sum of their parts. The portfolio develops several tools to aid the creation of the video stream and they are further explored to allow for real-time parametric mapped audio and video manipulations. Throughout the portfolio the concept of an associative audiovisual tripartition is created and refined, thus allowing for the exploration of the media as well as a discursive approach to the auditory and visual streams. The set of works offered in this portfolio aims to raise the video medium from mere visual commentary to an audiovisual stream within a new synergetic audiovisual media.

This portfolio comprises seven audiovisual compositions for digital media and a written commentary that describes the aesthetic concerns, technical features, and compositional approaches addressed in the portfolio as a whole and in each work in particular.

The pieces are submitted on USB Flash drive and optical media, along with accompanying software patches. Compositions are organised as follows:
Sketches. Duration: 7 minutes and 38 seconds.
Mutations. Duration: 11 minutes and 24 seconds.
Evolution. Duration: 11 minutes and 53 seconds.
Emergence. Duration: 6 minutes and 26 seconds.
Insomnia. Duration: 5 minutes and 5 seconds.
Xpressions. Duration: 7 minutes and 19 seconds.
Ut infinitio quod ultra. Duration: 13 minutes.

Item Type: Thesis (Doctoral)
Subjects: M Music and Books on Music > M Music
Divisions: Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences > School of Humanities
Depositing User: Users 4 not found.
Date Deposited: 20 Nov 2015 14:27
Last Modified: 20 Nov 2015 14:27
URI: https://eprints.keele.ac.uk/id/eprint/1188

Actions (login required)

View Item
View Item