Jones, Ronald K (1972) Synthesis of benz- and cyclohepta-pyridines. Doctoral thesis, Keele University.

[thumbnail of JonesPhD1972.pdf]

Download (2MB) | Preview


The methods of synthesis of benzocyclohepteneones are reviewed.
A sequential Claisen - Dieckmann condensation has been used to prepare di-alkyl 5,9-dihydroxy-7H-cyclohepta-[b]-and-[c]-pyridine-6,8-dicarboxylates.
These have been converted to the cyclopropaquinoline and cyclopropaisoquinoline-diones.
A review of some of the methods of preparing quinolines and isoquinolines is included.
The sequential condensation was adapted to prepare diethyl 5,8-dihydroxyquinoline-6,7-dicarboxylate and diethyl 5,8-dihydroxyisoquinoline-6,7-dicarboxylate which were oxidised to the corresponding quinones.
The quinoline-5,8-dione acted as a dienophile with cyclopentadiene.
Diels Alder adducts of the pyrido-[2,3-d]-and[3 ,4-d] - pyridazine-1,4-diones have been prepared.
9H-cyclohepta-[b] -pyridine-9-one has been synthesised.
Ynamine chemistry is reviewed. The reaction of ynamines with carboxylic acids has been studied. An attempt was made to perform a photochemical cycloaddition using an ynamine.

Item Type: Thesis (Doctoral)
Subjects: Q Science > QD Chemistry
Divisions: Faculty of Natural Sciences > School of Chemical and Physical Sciences
Depositing User: Lisa Bailey
Date Deposited: 01 Mar 2019 09:33
Last Modified: 01 Mar 2019 09:33

Actions (login required)

View Item
View Item